News Releases

Messmer: Bill encouraging consistent standards for solar and wind energy passes House committee

Contact: Lance Gideon, Press Secretary

Messmer: Bill encouraging consistent standards for solar and wind energy passes House committee

STATEHOUSE (March 21, 2023) — A bill authored by State Sen. Mark Messmer (R-Jasper) that would encourage consistent standards for solar and wind energy throughout Indiana unanimously passed the House Committee on Utilities, Energy and Telecommunications today.

Senate Bill 390 would provide incentives for counties to adopt standards in order to be designated a solar or wind ready community.

The bill is a follow-up to Senate Enrolled Act 411, which created a voluntary renewable energy program in 2022.

"Senate Bill 390 would incentivize implementation of consistent solar and wind energy standards for Indiana's counties, rather than requiring statewide compliance," Messmer said. "Participation in the program would send a signal to developers that a community is interested in potential wind and solar opportunities."

The program would be paid for without using state taxpayer dollars.

Currently, Indiana has 54 counties with some level of solar and wind energy standards, many of which are close to the standards created in SEA 411.

SB 390 would establish the Commercial Solar and Wind Energy Ready Communities Development Center within the Indiana Office of Energy Development (OED).

OED has already completed work and developed resources for these types of projects with Purdue University and IUPUI.

"I am pleased to see the bill receive support from the committee," Messmer said. "This legislation will allow communities throughout Indiana to be ready for future energy growth."

The bill now moves before the full House of Representatives for further consideration.

Legislative calendars, agendas, vote tallies, live streams and proposed legislation can be viewed online by visiting


State Sen. Mark Messmer (R-Jasper) represents Senate District 48, which
includes Crawford, Dubois, Gibson, Perry, Pike and Spencer counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.