News Releases

Long Makes Leadership, Committee Appointments

STATEHOUSE (Oct. 12, 2017) ― Indiana Senate President Pro Tem David Long (R-Fort Wayne) today announced leadership and committee appointments triggered by the retirement of Sen. Luke Kenley.

Sen. Mark Messmer (R-Jasper) will join the Senate Majority Caucus leadership team as the new Majority Whip.

The following changes to the Senate Committee on Appropriations are effective immediately:

Ranking Member: Sen. Liz Brown (R-Fort Wayne)

New Member: Sen. Rodric Bray (R-Martinsville)

These changes are in addition to Sen. Ryan Mishler’s (R-Bremen) appointment to Chair the Senate Committee on Appropriations, which took effect Oct. 1.

Sen. Brown will become the Senate’s alternate member on the State Budget Committee.

The following changes to the Senate School Funding Subcommittee are effective immediately:

Chair: Sen. Eric Bassler (R-Washington)

New Member: Sen. Liz Brown (R-Fort Wayne)

New Member: Sen. Jeff Raatz (R-Centerville)

Sen. Ed Charbonneau (R-Valparaiso) will continue to serve on the subcommittee.

“Our caucus has strong leaders with varied backgrounds from across the state, and we are fortunate to have a lot of talent on which to draw as we prepare for the upcoming legislative session,” Long said. “I am confident these men and women will continue to serve with great skill and integrity as they take on their new roles.”


Contact: Molly Swigart, Communications Director