News Releases

Koch: Bill to speed replacement of lead water lines in Indiana passes Senate

Contact: Kellyn Harrison, Press Secretary

Koch: Bill to speed replacement of lead water lines
in Indiana passes Senate

STATEHOUSE (Jan. 30, 2024) — A Senate Republican priority bill authored by State Sen. Eric Koch (R-Bedford) that would speed replacement of lead water lines in Indiana and better protect Hoosiers' health unanimously passed the Senate Tuesday, Jan. 30.

The Environmental Protection Agency estimates more than 265,000 customer-owned lead water service lines remain in use in Indiana despite the U.S. banning the installation of lead service lines in 1986.

Senate Bill 5 would enable utility companies with Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission (IURC)-approved lead line service replacement plans to replace lead pipes quicker, more efficiently and at a lower cost.

"Lead water lines are known to pose significant health risks as they age due to the increased possibility of lead getting into drinking water," Koch said. "This bill would take a significant step in addressing lead exposure in Indiana and better protecting Hoosiers' health. "

SB 5 will now move to the Indiana House of Representatives for further consideration. To learn more about this and other legislation Koch is authoring this legislative session, visit

Koch, chair of the Senate Committee on Utilities, holds a graduate certificate in Energy Policy Planning from the University of Idaho. He serves as co-chair of the Energy Supply Task Force of the National Conference of State Legislatures and as a member of the Executive Committee of the National Council on Electricity Policy. He was a member of the Federal Communications Commission's Consumer Advisory Committee. Koch also serves as a ranking member of the Senate committees on Commerce and Technology and Judiciary and as a member of the Senate Committee on Corrections and Criminal Law. Koch can be reached via email at or by phone at 800-382-9467.


State Sen. Eric Koch (R-Bedford) represents Senate District 44,

which includes Brown, Jackson, Lawrence and Orange counties,

and portions of Monroe County.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.