Hoosiers Encouraged to Report Lack of Broadband Access

Hoosiers Encouraged to Report Lack of Broadband Access

Friday, September 24, 2021

As technology continues to advance, it is vital that all Hoosiers have access to reliable internet, regardless of where they live.

To help improve broadband access in unserved and underserved communities, Senate Republicans championed Senate Enrolled Act 377 during the 2021 legislative session. SEA 377 establishes the Indiana Connectivity Program, which allows Hoosiers to self-report their lack of internet access to the state with a phone call, letter or submission through an online portal to the Indiana Office of Community and Rural Affairs.

To report a lack of access, Hoosiers may utilize the Next Level Connections portal at in.gov/ocra/broadband or call the Indiana Broadband Connection Center at 833-639-8522. Hoosiers may also send a letter to report a lack of access to:

Attn: Indiana Broadband Connect Center
Office of Community and Rural Affairs
1 N. Capitol Ave., Suite 600
Indianapolis IN 46204

Homeowners and business owners can apply for consideration for the program beginning Monday, Sept. 27.

To be eligible, a location must have access to actual speeds of less than 25 Mbps (download) and 3 Mbps (upload). Inputting location information into the Next Level Connections Broadband portal does not guarantee extension of service.

According to OCRA, eligible locations submitted will be available to service providers within 90 days. Next Level Connections Broadband Program funding may be available to assist in expanding internet opportunities to these locations following a 60-day bidding process. Once awarded, providers must complete their projects within nine months of the contract date.

Senate Republicans remain committed to implementing policies that close the digital divide between urban, suburban and rural communities and hope Hoosiers will take advantage of this new program.

To learn more about OCRA's program and how to report lack of broadband access through the mail, click here.