News Releases

Ford: Local students receive Next Generation teaching scholarships

STATEHOUSE (April 27, 2020) – The Indiana Commission for Higher Education recently awarded 200 Next Generation Hoosier Educator scholarships to high school seniors in Indiana, including four seniors in Vigo County, said State Sen. Jon Ford (R-Terre Haute).

This program, which was created by the General Assembly in 2017, provides high-achieving high school and college students pursuing a career in education the opportunity to earn a renewable scholarship of up to $7,500 each year for four academic years. In exchange, students agree to teach for five years at an eligible Indiana school or repay the corresponding, prorated amount of the scholarship.

"This scholarship is a great opportunity for young Hoosiers to pursue a career in education and avoid student debt," Ford said. "In addition, Indiana students and schools benefit because we are able to keep these smart, hardworking individuals in our state as teachers in our classrooms."

The following students in Vigo County received the scholarship:

• Lanee Dillion, Terre Haute South Vigo High School, Indiana State University;

• Kenzington Green, Terre Haute North Vigo High School, Indiana State University;

• Karen Waldbieser, Terre Haute North Vigo High School,

Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis; and

• Jordan Witt, Terre Haute South Vigo High School, Indiana State University.

To qualify for the scholarship, students had to either graduate in the highest 20 percent of their high school class or earn a score in the top 20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

"Congratulations to Lanee, Kenzington, Karen and Jordan," Ford said. "With more than 350 applicants from across the state this year, I was very excited to see four Vigo County students listed among the recipients. Your hard work is noticed and our community hopes to welcome you back in four years as teachers."

To learn more about the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, visit


A high-resolution photo of State Sen. Jon Ford is available by clicking here