News Releases

Buchanan: State accepting applications for teaching scholarships

Contact: Lance Gideon, Press Secretary

Buchanan: State accepting applications for teaching scholarships

STATEHOUSE (Nov. 27, 2023) — The Indiana Commission for Higher Education (CHE) is now accepting applications for the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, which offers future teachers up to $40,000 in financial aid, said State Sen. Brian Buchanan (R-Lebanon).

The scholarship is open to current high school seniors and college students who plan to teach in Indiana for at least five years after graduating from college.

"I encourage anybody considering a career in teaching to apply for this scholarship program," Buchanan said. "Our state's future depends on having quality educators at the front of our classrooms, and this scholarship program offers financial assistance to the best of our next generation of teachers."

Eligible students can receive up to $10,000 per year over their four-year collegiate career. Applications must be submitted by Jan. 31, 2024 to

During the 2023 legislative session, Buchanan sponsored House Enrolled Act 1637, which increased the amount of money the CHE can award a recipient each year from $7,500 to $10,000.

"This legislation was aimed at attracting talented young Hoosiers into the teaching profession," Buchanan said. "I am happy to see the bill start to make its intended impact on our state's future educators."

HEA 1637 also established the Next Generation Hoosier Minority Educators Scholarship, which will award up to $10,000 to an applicant who is a member of a minority group.

To qualify for one of these two scholarships, applicants must rank in the top 20% of their high school graduating class, have a top 20th percentile score on the ACT or SAT, or have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.

For more information on these scholarships, click here.

State Sen. Brian Buchanan (R-Lebanon) represents Senate District 7,
which includes Clinton County and portions of Boone, Hendricks and Montgomery counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.