News Releases

Raatz: Local farms honored with Hoosier Homestead Award


Contact: Jesse Cordray, Press Secretary

Local farms honored with Hoosier Homestead Award

STATEHOUSE (Aug. 7, 2020) – Area legislators recently announced the latest recipients of the Hoosier Homestead Award, which recognizes farms owned and maintained by the same family for 100 years or more.

The Hoosier Homestead Award Program honors families who have made significant contributions to Indiana agriculture. Instituted in 1976, the program recognizes the impact these family farms have made on the economic, cultural and social advancements of Indiana. In the past 40 years, more than 5,800 farms have received the honor.

Represented by State Sen. Jeff Raatz (R-Richmond) and State Reps. Randy Frye (R-Greensburg), Randy Lyness (R-West Harrison), J.D. Prescott (R-Union City) and Cindy Ziemke (R-Batesville), eight locally owned farms were recently honored:

  • The Bennett farm in Randolph County received a Centennial and a Sesquicentennial Award;

  • The Conn farm in Randolph County received a Centennial Award;

  • The Paul E. Henry farm in Fayette County received a Bicentennial Award;

  • The L&W Gutzwiller farm in Dearborn County received a Centennial Award;

  • The Logue farm in Union County received a Centennial Award;

  • The Neal farm in Dearborn County received a Centennial Award;

  • The Stirn farm in Franklin County received a Centennial Award; and
  • The Robert E. & Barbara E. Whitehead farm in Randolph County received a Sesquicentennial Award.

"Indiana is a national agriculture leader because of hard working family farmers like these," Raatz said. "I applaud these families for their historic accomplishments and wish them all the best as they continue to provide for our communities."

"These families exemplify Hoosiers' perseverance through tough work that is passed on generation to generation," Frye said. "Farmers are some of our most resilient workers, proving time and time again they can overcome difficulties, including challenges we haven't seen before this year."

"Our local and state economies benefit greatly from all the products and services our farmers provide," Lyness said. "Besides stocking our grocery stores shelves and supplying food to area restaurants, these operations also supply countless jobs to our neighbors."

"Growing up on a family farm, I know the dedication and work ethic it takes to run a farm day in and day out, and it's a tremendous milestone to hang on for a century or more," Prescott said. "Congratulations to each family farm honored with this award, and thank you for your commitment to our community and state."

"The Hoosier Homestead Award program gives Indiana's famers the chance to proudly show their commitment to their communities," Ziemke said. "Recipients can display the award for customers and neighbors to see, while bringing attention to their contributions to our state over the years."

To be named a Hoosier Homestead, farms must be owned by the same family for at least 100 consecutive years and consist of more than 20 acres or produce more than $1,000 of agricultural products per year. The award distinctions are Centennial, Sesquicentennial and Bicentennial – for 100, 150 and 200 years, respectively.

To learn more about the program or to apply for a Hoosier Homestead Award, visit Once made available, photos of the event can be found here.


State Sen. Jeff Raatz represents Senate District 27, which includes all of Randolph, Wayne and Union counties and portions of Dearborn, Franklin and Fayette counties.

State Rep. Randy Frye (R-Greensburg) represents House District 67, which includes

all of Ohio and Switzerland counties, as well as portions of Dearborn,

Decatur, Jefferson, Jennings and Ripley counties.

State Rep. Randy Lyness (R-West Harrison) represents House District 68, which includes

all of Union County and portions of Franklin and Dearborn counties.

State Rep. J.D. Prescott (R-Union City) represents House District 33, which

includes Jay and Randolph counties, and a portion of Delaware County.

State Rep. Cindy Ziemke (R-Batesville) represents House District 55, which includes

all of Fayette County and portions of Decatur, Franklin, Ripley and Rush counties.