News Releases

Penn-Harris-Madison Achievements Honored by General Assembly

Pictured Left to Right: Dr. Jerry Thacker, Sen. Joe Zakas, Glenn Northern and Coach Jeff Hart.

INDIANAPOLIS (Jan. 30, 2018) — The Indiana General Assembly has honored the outstanding achievements from the Penn-Harris-Madison School Corporation (PHM). Three resolutions authored by State Sen. Joe Zakas (R-Granger) recognized PHM Superintendent Dr. Jerry Thacker, the Penn High School girls soccer team, and director of bands Glenn Northern for their recent accomplishments.

Senate Concurrent Resolution 21 honored Thacker for being named 2017 Outstanding Educator by the Indiana Association of Public School Superintendents. Thacker also received this award in 2013. He has received a number of other awards, as well, including Indiana Superintendent of the Year in 2012.

Thacker oversees fifteen schools with over 11,200 students. The PHM School Corporation has consistently been named an “A” rated school district and ranks among the state’s top four percent of Hoosier public school districts.

Senate Concurrent Resolution 22 congratulated the Penn High School girls soccer team for winning their second straight Class 3A state championship. They defeated the Guerin Catholic High School girls team 2-0 for the title. The remarkable Penn team completed the 2017 season ranked first in the nation, as well. Head coach Jeff Hart was present at the Statehouse to receive the recognition on behalf of the team.

Senate Concurrent Resolution 23 honored Glenn Northern, Director of Bands and the Fine Arts, on receiving the 2018 Outstanding Music Educator of the Year from the Indiana Music Educator Association. Northern arrived at PHM in 2001. He currently oversees more than 450 students in four concert bands, three jazz ensembles, two percussion classes, pit orchestra, pep band, marching band and five winter guards. PHM has been recognized as one of the “Best Communities for Music Education” by the National Association of Music Merchants due in great part to Northern’s work.

“It is fitting for the General Assembly to honor these tremendous achievements and to recognize them on a statewide basis,” Zakas said.

State Sen. Ryan Mishler (R-Bremen) and State Sen. David Niezgodski (D-South Bend) also served as sponsors of the resolutions. Rep. Dale DeVon (R-Granger) served as the principal sponsor in the Indiana House of Representatives.


CONTACT: Bretton Judy, Deputy Press Secretary