News Releases

Long Makes Additional Leadership, Committee Appointments

STATEHOUSE (Jan. 3, 2018) ― Indiana Senate President Pro Tem David Long (R-Fort Wayne) today announced additional changes to Senate Republican leadership and committee assignments triggered by the retirement of Sen. Brandt Hershman.

The following changes are effective immediately:

  • Sen. Liz Brown (R-Fort Wayne) joins the leadership team as the Assistant Majority Floor Leader for Parliamentary Affairs. She replaces Sen. Rodric Bray (R-Martinsville), who was named Majority Floor Leader following Hershman’s retirement.
  • Sen. Greg Walker (R-Columbus) becomes the Ranking Member of the Senate Committee on Tax and Fiscal Policy.
  • Sen. Chip Perfect (R-Lawrenceburg) fills the vacancy on the Senate Committee on Tax and Fiscal Policy and relinquishes his membership on the Senate Committee on Appropriations.
  • Sen. Mike Crider (R-Greenfield) fills the vacancies on the Senate Committees on Appropriations and Rules and Legislative Procedure. He relinquishes his membership on the Senate Committees on Agriculture and Natural Resources.
  • Sen. Randy Head (R-Logansport) fills the vacancy on Legislative Council and Legislative Council Technology Oversight Subcommittee.

Once appointed, the new senator representing Senate District 7 will serve on the Senate Committees on Agriculture/Natural Resources, Commerce and Technology/Utilities, and Local Government.

“The Senate has been fortunate to have had the service of talents like Luke Kenley and Brandt Hershman for many years,” Long said. “That being said, as we pass the torch, I am confident that we have the right men and women with strong leadership skills and integrity that can begin a lasting legacy of their own. I place my trust in them with their new roles and look forward to a productive legislative session.”

The Indiana General Assembly reconvenes for the 2018 legislative session Jan. 3 at 1:30 p.m.