News Releases

Local legislators honor Western Boone Jr.-Sr. High School football team with resolution

STATEHOUSE (Jan. 23, 2020) — State Sens. Phil Boots (R-Crawfordsville) and Brian Buchanan (R-Lebanon), and State Reps. Tim Brown (R-Crawfordsville), Donna Schaibley (R-Carmel) and Jeff Thompson (R-Lizton) honored the Western Boone football team today with Senate Concurrent Resolution 10.

The Western Boone Stars won the 2019 Indiana High School Athletic Association class 2A Championship to complete a perfect 15-0 season, defeating Eastbrook High School 44-7 at Lucas Oil Stadium.

“Winning a state title is an accomplishment these players will remember for the rest of their lives,” Brown said. “Our community is proud of these champions, as well as the coaches and families who supported them throughout the season.”

“I’m incredibly proud of this team for achieving such an accomplishment,” Boots said. “Being an athlete and a student takes a great deal of dedication, and I admire them greatly for balancing their studies while excelling on the field.”

“This team played well from start to finish and were strong on both offense and defense in the championship game,” Buchanan said. “Winning one state title is very challenging. Winning a second is even more challenging. I’m extremely proud of these students and look forward to their future successes.”

“Congratulations to the Western Boone Stars on their outstanding seasons,” Schaibley said. “Your hard work deserves this recognition. The passion and effort each of you pour into your sport shows an exceptional work ethic that will only benefit you in the years to come.”

“The Stars have worked diligently to become a powerhouse in Class 2A football,” Thompson said. “Finishing the last two seasons as champions is a testament to that. It’s a joy to watch these young athletes continue such remarkable success and consistently strive for more.”

Over the course of the state tournament, the Stars defeated Southmont and North Putnam to win the sectional championship; South Vermillion and Heritage Christian to win the regional championship; and Triton Central to win the semi-state championship.


Sen. Phil Boots (R-Crawfordsville) represents Senate District 23, which includes

Fountain, Montgomery, Parke, Vermilion and Warren counties, as well

as a portion of Boone County.

For a high-resolution photo of Boots, click here.

Rep. Tim Brown (R-Crawfordsville) represents House District 41, which includes

portions of Boone, Montgomery and Tippecanoe counties.

For a high-resolution photo of Brown, click here.

Sen. Brian Buchanan (R-Lebanon) represents Senate District 7, which includes

White County and portions of Boone, Carroll, Clinton,

Jasper and Tippecanoe counties.

For a high-resolution photo of Buchanan, click here.

State Rep. Donna Schaibley (R-Carmel) represents House District 24,

which includes portions of Boone and Hamilton counties.

For a high-resolution photo of Schaibley, click here.

State Rep. Jeff Thompson (R-Lizton) represents

portions of Hendricks and Boone counties.

For a high-resolution photo of Thompson, click here