News Releases

Local farms honored with Hoosier Homestead Award

Contact: Kellyn Harrison, Press Secretary

Kurtis Karg, Press Secretary Intern

Local farms honored with Hoosier Homestead Award

STATEHOUSE (March 28, 2023) – Area legislators are recognizing the latest local recipients of the Hoosier Homestead Award, which recognizes farms owned and maintained by the same family for 100 years or more.

Represented by State Sen. Jean Leising (R-Oldenburg), State Rep. Lindsay Patterson (R-Brookville) and State Rep. Cory Criswell (R-Middletown), four locally-owned farms were honored at the Statehouse:

The Hoosier Homestead Award Program honors families who have made significant contributions to Indiana agriculture. Instituted in 1976, the program recognizes the impact these family farms have made on the economic, cultural and social advancements of Indiana. In the past 47 years, more than 5,800 farms have received the honor.

"As chair of the Senate Committee on Agriculture and a fellow farm owner, I know how tough it can be to run a successful farm," Leising said. "It is imperative for us to take the time to recognize local farmers for their dedication to Indiana agriculture. Congratulations to all of the award winners, I wish you continued success in the years to come."

"These local farm families, generation after generation, dedicated their lives to working the land and helping to feed the world," Patterson said. "These local homesteaders are a shining example of Hoosier perseverance, and they deserve to be honored for reaching this significant milestone."

"Indiana's agriculture industry succeeds because of these longstanding family farms," Criswell said. "These Hoosiers are committed to working hard, and their efforts help propel our state and economy forward."

To be named a Hoosier Homestead, farms must be owned by the same family for at least 100 consecutive years and consist of more than 20 acres or produce more than $1,000 of agricultural products per year. The award distinctions are Centennial, Sesquicentennial and Bicentennial – for 100, 150 and 200 years, respectively.

To learn more about the program or to apply for a Hoosier Homestead Award, visit Photos of the event can be found here.


State Sen. Jean Leising (R-Oldenburg) represents Senate District 42, which includes
all or parts of Decatur, Fayette, Franklin, Henry, Ripley, Rush and Shelby counties.
Click here for a high resolution photo.

State Rep. Lindsay Patterson (R-Brookville) represents House District 55, which includes
all of Fayette, Franklin and Union counties, and portions of Decatur, Ripley and Rush counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Cory Criswell (R-Middletown) represents House District 54,
which includes portions of Hancock, Henry, Rush and Shelby counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.