News Releases

Kenley, Richardson Honor Noblesville Cultural Arts District

STATEHOUSE (March 20, 2017) — State Sen. Luke Kenley (R-Noblesville) and State Rep. Kathy Richardson (R-Noblesville) today honored the Noblesville Cultural Arts District with Senate Concurrent Resolution 19 on the floor of the Senate and House of Representatives.

SCR 19 recognizes the value that the downtown Noblesville Cultural Arts District brings to the community. The designation of a “Cultural Arts District” was a culmination of efforts from the Noblesville Arts Council, which is represented by 19 area organizations made up of artists, art organizations, city and county government, the library, local businesses, economic development groups and schools.

“Having a cultural arts district in our city is a great economic development tool and improves the quality of life for those who live here,” Kenley said. “This District attracts tourists and supports local businesses like lodging, restaurants and retail. The presence of cultural arts also enhances property values and improves the area’s tax base. This designation is a significant step forward for our community, and I am proud of our community members who helped achieve this goal.”

“The arts profoundly impact our lives in many ways,” Richardson said. “Our community benefits not only from the diverse artistic programs and educational opportunities that the Noblesville Cultural Arts District offers, but also from the economic opportunities. Those involved in establishing the Noblesville Cultural Arts District and everyone dedicated to making it a success deserve recognition for their commitment and vision.”

The pair added that the City of Noblesville currently offers more than 300 cultural arts events through various organizations each year.

Noblesville joins Bloomington, Carmel, Columbus, Lafayette, Madison and Nashville in the Indiana Statewide Cultural Districts Program.


Click here for a high-resolution photo of Kenley.
Click here for a high-resolution photo of Richardson.

Sen. Kenley Contact: Molly Swigart, Press Secretary

Rep. Kathy Richardson Contact: Courtney Heiden, Deputy Communications Director