News Releases

Glick: Communities in Senate District 13 receive more than $5.5 million in road-funding grants

STATEHOUSE (Dec. 7, 2022) — Communities in Senate District 13 will receive more than $5.5 million to improve roads and bridges through the Community Crossings Matching Grant Program, said State Sen. Sue Glick (R-LaGrange).

The Community Crossings Matching Grant Program, established by the Indiana General Assembly in 2016, aims to advance community infrastructure projects, strengthen local transportation networks and improve Indiana’s roads and bridges. Since its enactment, the program has awarded more than $1.1 billion in state matching funds for local construction projects.

In Senate District 13, the following communities received grants:

  • Angola received $580,553.84;
  • Avilla received $617,016;
  • Clear Lake received $1 million;
  • DeKalb County received $1 million;
  • Garrett received $363,502.50;
  • Ligonier received $339,565.88;
  • Noble County received $671,118.34; and
  • Shipshewana received $1 million.

"It is encouraging to see local leaders investing in the future of our community's infrastructure by taking advantage of this grant program," Glick said. "Roads and bridges are the foundation that helps our state run and succeed, and with this funding, our local infrastructure will have the means to improve."

Through the program, the Indiana Department of Transportation matches up to $1 million annually when localities invest in road and bridge repairs. Counties with populations fewer than 50,000 and cities and towns with populations fewer than 10,000 receive a 75%/25% match, while counties with populations greater than 50,000 and cities and towns with populations greater than 10,000 receive a 50%/50% match.

The Community Crossings Matching Grant Program offers two rounds of applications each year, with the next call for applications occurring in January of 2023.

To view the full list of communities receiving matching funds, click here.


State Sen. Sue Glick (R-LaGrange) represents Senate District 13,
which includes LaGrange, Noble and Steuben counties and a portion of DeKalb County.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.