News Releases

Bray: Communities in Senate District 37 receive nearly $4.4 million in road-funding grants

A full breakdown of the Community Crossings Awards can be found here.

STATEHOUSE (Nov. 3, 2023) — Communities in Senate District 37 will receive nearly $4.4 million to improve roads and bridges through the Community Crossings Matching Grant Program (CCMG), said Senate President Pro Tem Rodric Bray (R-Martinsville).

The CCMG, established by the Indiana General Assembly in 2016, aims to advance community infrastructure projects, strengthen local transportation networks and improve Indiana’s roads and bridges. Since its enactment, the program has awarded nearly $1.5 billion in state matching funds for local construction projects.

In Senate District 37, the following communities received grants:

  • Bargersville received $1 million;
  • Gosport received $139,920.68;
  • Greenwood received $1 million;
  • Johnson County received $1 million;
  • Mooresville received $998,771.25;
  • Morgantown received $248,920.96.

"Investing in our infrastructure is critical as Indiana continues to attract new companies and residents to our state," Bray said. "I want to congratulate our local officials for seeking out and securing this important funding and making sure our communities can continue to grow and thrive."

Through the program, the Indiana Department of Transportation matches up to $1 million annually when localities invest in road and bridge repairs. Counties with populations fewer than 50,000 and cities and towns with populations fewer than 10,000 receive a 75%/25% match, while counties with populations greater than 50,000 and cities and towns with populations greater than 10,000 receive a 50%/50% match.

The CCMG offers two rounds of applications each year, with the next call for applications occurring in January of 2024.

To view the full list of communities receiving matching funds, click here.


Senate President Pro Tem Rodric Bray (R-Martinsville) represents Senate District 37, which includes Morgan County and portions of Johnson, Owen and Putnam counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

Contact: Molly Swigart, Communications Director