News Releases

Bray names Perry Township Superintendent to SBOE

STATEHOUSE (June 28, 2019) — Senate President Pro Tem Rodric Bray (R-Martinsville) has appointed Perry Township Schools’ Superintendent Pat Mapes to the Indiana State Board of Education (SBOE).

Mapes has served in many different roles in the education field prior to becoming Superintendent of Perry Township Schools. Mapes has spent time as a social studies teacher, coach, assistant principal, principal and assistant superintendent. He has also served the state as Assistant Superintendent for Public Instruction for Operations and as the Chairman of the Indiana Education Employment Relations Board.

“Pat has a wealth of experience, with more than 30 years working in nearly every aspect of education and in schools both big and small,” Bray said. “As a superintendent, Mr. Mapes has been an effective and innovative educator, and it was immediately clear to me that the success of our Hoosier children is his highest priority. I believe he will bring fresh ideas and good energy to the SBOE.”

Mapes will replace outgoing SBOE member Dr. Steve Yager, who was appointed by former Senate President Pro Tem David Long (R-Fort Wayne).

“I am very grateful to Sen. Bray for choosing a current superintendent like myself to serve as a member of the SBOE,” Mapes said. “Perry Township Schools is the seventh-largest district in the state with the largest population of English Learners, which makes me acutely aware of some of the more significant challenges schools may face. As a member of the SBOE, I will work hard to apply the many lessons I have learned in my career to the issues that come before the Board in order to effect positive change for our students, teachers and schools.”

The SBOE is comprised of 11 members, including a member who is appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate. Bray appointed Mapes following Dr. Steve Yager’s decision to conclude his service on the Board at the end of his appointed term, which ends June 30, 2019. Mapes’ term will last from July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2023.


For a high-resolution photo of Sen. Bray, click here

Contact: Molly Swigart, Communications Director