News Releases

Tomes Congratulates Distinguished Award Recipients


State Sen. Jim Tomes (R-Wadesville) congratulates honored award recipients at the 25th annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Indiana Holiday Celebration at the Statehouse Thursday, Jan. 14.

Rev. Adrian M. Brooks, Sr. received the 2016 Chairman’s Award for his leadership, most notably within his congregation, which has grown to over 4,500 members. Under his direction, the church offers over 50 ministries including childcare and substance-abuse programs, which have created a sense of renovation and renewal in the Evansville community.

Mary Margaret Schiff received the 2016 Passing the Torch Award for her artistic depiction of high school students celebrating their graduation, which was created to illustrate the possibilities that await the next generation if they continue to work to improve our world.

“It was an honor to witness two individuals from the Evansville area being recognized for their significant accomplishments and contributions to the Evansville community,” Tomes said.