News Releases

[s7] Sen. Hershman Appointed to Serve on Budget, Medicaid Oversight, Tax Policy Panels

STATEHOUSE (July 6, 2012) — Indiana Senate President Pro Tem David Long (R-Fort Wayne) today announced his appointment of State Sen. Brandt Hershman (R-Buck Creek) to once again serve as a member of the State Budget Committee.


Long also tapped Hershman to be a member of two other panels — the Select Joint Commission on Medicaid Oversight and the Commission on State Tax and Financing Policy.


The full list of interim appointments for Senate Majority Caucus members can be found by clicking here.


“I appreciate the opportunity to serve Hoosiers during the interim months by looking at policies that could greatly affect Indiana’s economic future,” Hershman said. “As a member of the State Budget Committee, my top priority is to ensure Indiana continues to live within its means and not burden Hoosier taxpayers. I'm also looking forward to leading a comprehensive review — created by a bill I authored last session — of state tax credits in an effort to learn how effective they are in helping Indiana taxpayers and promoting economic growth.”


Each summer and fall — when Indiana’s part-time legislature is not in session — lawmakers are assigned to interim study committees that meet to review the state’s top issues, as identified by the General Assembly during the prior legislative session.


“Study committees are an integral part of Indiana’s legislative process,” Long said. “Many of the topics examined by lawmakers during this time lay the groundwork for legislation that will come before the General Assembly in the upcoming session.”


Hershman added he expects some proposals generated for the 2013 session will focus on:


• Ensuring Indiana continues its record of balanced budgets and living within the state’s means.
• Reviewing state taxes and regulations to make sure they are encouraging job creation.
• Making sure public education gives every student the opportunity for college and career success.


Study committee topics are assigned by the Legislative Council, comprised of 16 voting members — eight from the House of Representatives and eight from the Senate.